Yulio Knowledge Base > VR Project Security > Methods for VR Project Security

Methods for VR Project Security

In a time where a lot of the world is working remotely, we find ourselves looking for ways to work collaboratively with colleagues and clients. Yulio is a great tool to help you do exactly that. While we don’t currently offer the ability to password protect a VR project, below we have provided 5 helpful tips to share your VR project securely.

Method 1: Enable Yulio’s Private Project View Permission

By default, all new Yulio projects are set to Public. To private one or more of your Yulio projects, you can enable the Private Project view permission. When a project is Private, only members of your company who are logged in to Yulio and authorized clients can view the project. Authorized clients are those who have the project available to them through a Client Gallery.

Check out these articles to learn more about how to Private a Yulio project and create a Client Gallery.

Method 2: Create a Copy of the VR Project

When you share a VR project URL, viewers have the ability to view and share the project however they like. A great way to control how long a client or audience can view a project is by creating a copy of the project and then deleting the original. When you copy a project, an exact duplicate will be created with all hotspots but a new unique URL. By deleting the original project, the original URL will also be deleted/deactivated, meaning you are restricting viewing access.

Note: When you delete the original VR project, all analytic data will also be deleted

Check out this article to learn how to Copy a VR Project in your Yulio account.

Method 3: Launch a Collaborate Session

Collaborate is Yulio’s presentation tool. It allows you to see what other people are seeing, guide them to a spotlighted area and have everyone meet in the same virtual space.

Clients or colleagues can join the live session from anywhere in browser mode or in a VR headset. With Collaborate, guests in your session will be able to see and experience the VR project while the Collaborate session is live, but as soon as you end the session they will lose access. This allows you to control who is seeing your project and for how long.

Every Collaborate session you launch has it own unique 4 digit code and users must register to enter the session.

Check out this article to learn how to Launch and Host a Collaborate Session.

Method 4: Embed the VR Project & Password Protect the Web Page

Another great way to ensure your VR project is only being shared with your desired audience is by embedding your VR project right into a web page on your site, and then password protecting that web page. By password protecting your web page, it ensures only those with the password will be able to view the VR project. You will most likely need your web page administrator or IT team to support you in embedding your VR project and password protecting the page.

Note: Keep in mind, anyone with the password can view the VR project. Use the VR project analytics to view where and when your project is being viewed.

Method 5: Utilize Yulio’s Analytics Feature

Yulio’s Project Analytics are a great way to review individual viewer data for your VR project. Project Analytics allows you to see when your project was viewed, the approximate location, length of session and more. Use this feature to better understand who is engaging with your VR project.

Check out this YouTube video to learn more about viewing VR project analytics in Yulio.

Leave a Reply