Yulio Knowledge Base > Sharing and Presenting a VR Project > Collaborate: What is it and how can I use it?

Collaborate: What is it and how can I use it?

Collaborate is Yulio’s most popular feature. Similar to a presentation mode, it allows you to see what other people are seeing, guide them to a spotlighted area, and have everyone meeting in the same virtual space. People you’re meeting with in-person can all be in the same session on headsets, and remote participants can join in a VR headset or in browser mode. 

How do I launch a Collaborate Session?

To start a Collaborate session, make sure you’re signed in to your account on yulio.com. Once you’re logged in, select Collaborate from the top navigation bar.

Next, click on the Start Collaborating button.

If there are no projects in your Headset Gallery, you will be prompted to choose which project you would like to host your Collaborate session in.

If you have projects in your Headset Gallery, Collaborate will auto-launch the session using the first project in your gallery – so make sure you know which project is listed there by checking your Headset Projects tab, as seen in the image below.
 
How to Join a Collaborate Session

In the Add Participants panel, you will see a couple options for guests to join your Collaborate session. To join in browser mode on a computer, phone or tablet, guests can either scan the session’s QR Code with their device or go to live.yulio.com and enter the Group Code.

Screenshot of a collaborate session from the host's perspective. The Add Participants panel is open.

Launching a Collaborate session will automatically open the session in any headsets bound to your account. To join in a VR headset, ensure you have connected your headset to your Yulio account. Once your headset is connected, you will automatically enter the Collaborate session when you open the Yulio Viewer app on the device.

Check out this YouTube video to learn how to connect a headset to your account.

When a guest joins your Collaborate session, you’ll see their name appear in the Participants panel.

Screenshot of a collaborate session from the host's perspective. The Participants panel is open. The host and one guest are listed in the Participants panel.

Present Mode and Explore Mode
There are two different presentation modes in Collaborate: Present Mode and Explore Mode. Keep reading to learn about how and when to use each mode to get the most out of your project meetings and presentations.
 
Present Mode

In Present Mode, you as the host have the control to guide your viewers through the experience and direct your viewers’ attention to a certain area in a scene.

In this mode, guests cannot activate any hotspots, and they are restricted to the scene that the host is in. Only when the host activates a hotspot can the guests view the hotspot, and only when the host navigates to a new scene will the guests navigate to a new scene. 

We recommend starting off in Present Mode so that you have an opportunity to guide your guests throughout the experience before they can explore on their own.

How do I activate Present Mode?

Start out by launching a Collaborate session.

To activate Present Mode, select the Present button at the top of the Participants Panel.

Screenshot of a collaborate session from the host's perspective. The Present mode tab is enclosed with a red border to highlight the feature.

You can assign presenter controls to a guest by clicking on their name in the Participants panel. You can take back control at any time by clicking on your name.

Explore Mode

In Explore Mode, your guests have the freedom to move throughout the entire project at their own pace and without limitations. During this time, Explore Mode will gaze through each guests view for 10-15 seconds so you as the host can see where your guests are exploring and what is grabbing their attention.

If no guests are present, Explore Mode will auto-pan through each scene in the project. This is a great feature to take advantage of during a tradeshow or other event where you might want to have your project auto-play on a screen at your booth.

How do I activate Explore Mode?

Start out by launching a Collaborate session.

To activate Explore Mode, select the Explore button at the top of the Participants Panel. As your guests are exploring the VR project, your screen will gaze through each guests view for 10-15 seconds. Don’t worry you can still interact with your screen at any time.

Screenshot of a collaborate session from the host's perspective. The Explore mode tab is enclosed with a red border to highlight the feature.

To end Explore Mode and bring all participants back to a single scene, select the Present button in the Participants Panel.

Enable Live Meeting in Collaborate
Collaborate now supports voice chat to make communication during your sessions even smoother. With our voice chat function, you can speak to, and hear from, your guests directly within the Collaborate session – no need to use an external communication or meeting tool.
 
To enable voice chat during a Collaborate session, select the Start Chat button at the top of your screen.
 
Screenshot of a collaborate session from the host's perspective. A red arrow points to the Start Chat button.
 
Next, click on on the Microphone icon to turn on your microphone.
 

Screenshot of a collaborate session from the hosts perspective. A red arrow points to the enable/disable microphone icon.

When Live Meeting is enabled, your guests will be prompted to allow use of their own microphone to participate in voice chat. Guests can participate in voice chat from any desktop, smartphone, tablet or VR headset that has a speaker and microphone. 
 
To learn more about using voice chat in your Collaborate sessions, click here.

Leave a Reply